Tuesday, November 24, 2020

The Rose by PD Alleva

 


The Rose

by PD Alleva

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GENRE: Dystopian Science Fiction Thriller

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB: A masterful, dystopian science fiction thriller of underground genetic experiments, telepathic evil greys, mysterious rebellion, conspiracy, martial arts, and Alien Vampires.


Sandy Cox believed WW3 was over. But for those Alien Vampires, War Has Just Begun.


Forty-eight hours after a World War III treaty is signed Sandy Cox awakens in an underground compound unable to move. Tied to machines she screams for help but no one answers. At least NO ONE HUMAN.


And they’ve taken her unborn child.


Enter Phil, a rebel freedom fighter who has had more than his share of Alien Vampires. Armed with THE BLADES, a sacred alien martial art, he enters the compound on a mission to find Sandy. But as he battles his way through the compound, Phil discovers Sandy has her own agenda. Finding her stolen child is all that matters.


But the vampires have their own plan and Sandy’s baby is at the heart of their diabolical plot. Joined by a crew of rogue soldiers, they must navigate the underground compound, battling genetically mutated humans, aliens and monsters.


When battling Alien Vampires, one thing is certain…Get Ready To Bleed!


Fans of The Hunger Games, George RR Martin, VE Schwab, Star Wars and Ancient Aliens will be fascinated by this high-powered, intelligent, edge of your seat dystopian sci-fi action thriller.

~~~~~~~~~~~~


Excerpt:  
It’s in the blood, dear,” said Ellen, one of the women Sandy shared time and space with, her skin worn by age, hard labor, and days spent under the sun. Blotches, liver spots and creases led the observer to the eyes. One dark, the other a cataract milky white and she always wore a dark shawl draped over the head and shoulders. Sandy was afraid of Ellen, she reminded Sandy of a gypsy or witch from a fairy-tale.

Come again?” said Sandy, her eyes shifting from soldier to Ellen to soldier then back to Ellen.

Ellen had cut herself transferring a wood bucket filled with rice to add to an already large trough of buckets. A thick wood splinter pinned in the bottom of her palm dripping with a thick stream of blood. She turned to Sandy raising the bloodied palm and caught a drop of blood in her unwounded hand.

The blood dear,” said Ellen. “All magic comes from the blood.”

Sandy cringed at the sight; she’d always been squeamish. Her stomach bumped, blood curled. Magic, Sandy thought. If only magic was real. How wonderful would that be? Sandy understood she was na├»ve, the result of an isolated childhood and her parents’ death when she was ten years old. Not that they had taught the young Sandy about the world she lived in either. They’d kept her under lock and key, never so much as offering a glimpse or advice on the outside world. They were always so cryptic with their explanations, living in an abundant and overgrown mansion as if luxury were a childhood friend. Sure there were plenty of rooms for a child to explore but as time went by those rooms seemed more like a prison than a home.

Years of neglect, isolation and secrets were as torturous as physical suffering. And she was tired of secrets. She wanted to know truth. Truth was like a blanket that keeps you warm in the coldest winter.

The blood, Sandy,” said Ellen who clenched her fist around those crimson droplets, shaking her hand in front of her face. “All is in the blood.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~



AUTHOR Bio and Links:  
PD Alleva is an alternative fiction author. His novels cross genres,
blending mystery, conspiracy, psychology, and action with horror and dystopian science fiction. Alternative fiction is PD's attempt at describing what readers uncover in any one of his books, a new discovery towards mainstream storytelling. He's been writing since childhood, creating and developing stories with brash and impactful concepts that he would describe are metaphors for the shifting energies that exist in the universe. PD exists inside of his own universe, working diligently on The Rose Vol. II and exceptional h
orror novels. Be prepared for Golem, PD’s upcoming horror thriller.

Social Media Info:

Website/Newsletter www.pdalleva.com

Facebook Page: @pdallevaauthor

Twitter: @PdallevaAuthor

Instagram: pdalleva_author

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/author/pdalleva

Buy links:

https://www.amazon.com/Rose-Vol-Dystopian-Science-Thriller-ebook/dp/B089JTPJ8G

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-rose-vol-1-a-dystopian-science-fiction-thriller-pd-alleva/1137496315

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GIVEAWAY INFORMATION: One randomly chosen winner via rafflecopter will win a $50 Amazon/BN.com gift card.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

INTERVIEW WITH THE AUTHOR

Hi, and welcome to my blog! Just a few quick questions for my readers, if you don't mind! What advice would you give new writers?

Follow your gut. Connect with other authors and ask questions. The indie author community is a vast resource for help and advice. Learn it, use it, love it, but always figure out what will work best for you and what fits your personality and career needs.

That is good advice! What real-life inspirations did you draw from for the worldbuilding?

Anything really, but mostly landmarks, blips of historical periods, mythical and magical lore, old worlds with societies that have gone into the wasteland of the phantom abyss, and imagining a dystopian future based on current events.

Not hard to imagine anymore, is it? ;-) What inspires you to write?

Great storytelling, conspiracy theories, and interests in alien lore, the surreal, the unknown, mythology, philosophy, quantum physics, and the metaphysical.

What is your routine when writing, if any? If you don’t follow a routine, why not?

Wake up, drop out of bed, drink a few cups of coffee, throw on the headphones, read the last chapter or two that I wrote the day before including the first paragraph or two in the new chapter, then start to think. Get into the character and the scene that’s coming up. Once I got it clear in my head I sit down to write. Where it goes from there no one really knows except the characters on the page.

Coffee! Yes, nectar of the gods, or in this case, the writers! What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write in any of your books, and why?

The many action and fight sequences in The Rose. Writing those scenes was great fun. I had the images in my head that played out like watching a badass movie trailer. I’d use music, most specifically, Led Zeppelin’s Kashmir, to get the juices flowing and implement the best action sequences possible. My goal was for the reader to feel like they were inside of the scene, kind of like a referee in an MMA fight. Considering the reviews the book has been receiving it appears this goal was accomplished.

Thank you very much, and best wishes for your writing! Your book sounds fascinating!



28 comments:

  1. Thank you for hosting, everything looks awesome. Good morning readers and book lovers, thank you for stopping by today. Enjoy the interview and excerpt and feel free to leave a comment or ask a question, I'll be stopping by throughout the day to reply and answer. As always, have an awesome week, PD

    ReplyDelete
  2. It's great hearing about new books when you have a family who loves to read. Thanks so much for sharing your book.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. thank you for stopping by James. Good luck on the giveaway.

      Delete
  3. Thanks for sharing the great post and awesome giveaway :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I liked the excerpt. Thank you for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. thank you for the feedback Rita. Good luck on the giveaway

      Delete
  5. I enjoyed getting to know you a bit and reading the excerpt, sounds like a terrific read, thanks for sharing with me!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you for stopping by Stormy. Thank you for the feedback.

      Delete
  6. I love the cover and think the book sounds great.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. thank you Sherry. Enjoy those alien vampires.

      Delete
  7. Replies
    1. Nice, thank you for the feedback Dobie. Enjoy your day and good luck on the giveaway.

      Delete
  8. Replies
    1. thank you for stopping by Victoria. Enjoy your weekend.

      Delete
  9. I love the cover. The blurb sounds good. Thanks for the chance.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you for the feedback Lynn. Good luck on the giveaway.

      Delete
  10. Replies
    1. Thank you. Enjoy those alien vampires, they can be very creepy indeed.

      Delete
  11. Happy Official Start to the Christmas Shopping Season Day!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. thank you Kim. I'm so glad the holiday season is in full swing. A bit different this year for obvious reasons but we can still make it magical as always.

      Delete
  12. I'm trying to picture the excitement and merriment of Christmas with vampires and evil greys. Honestly, it's not looking pretty.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ahh, they're just damn good fun and literary gems for the holiday season. Nothing better than a good book with great storytelling. Plus, they're so ravenous they'll make you appreciate family even more. LOL thank you Kim for stopping by.

      Delete
  13. What a fascinating book! Great excerpt and cover. Thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you for the feedback Bonnie. Glad you stopped by. Enjoy the book, PD

      Delete
  14. Your book sounds very exciting. I have heard a lot of positive reviews.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Awesome, thank you for the feedback. Glad you were able to stop by.

      Delete

Can't Think Straight by Isabel Scheck

This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions . Isabel Scheck will be awarding a $10 or $15 Amazon or B/N G...